Advisory Council Convenes First Meeting

More than 40 local residents were on hand as the Legislative Advisory Council, created by State Sen. Chris Nybo, State Rep. Peter Breen and State Rep. Patricia Bellock to work on issues being considered in Springfield, convened its first meeting on June 17th at the DeVry University Campus in Downers Grove.

“Each year, thousands of bills are filed in the General Assembly, but only a small percentage of those bills will make it through committees and into the House or Senate for actual consideration. There are good bills and there are troublesome bills to consider,” Rep. Breen said. “We need to know how these bills are viewed by local residents, and this community input is the Legislative Advisory Council’s most important resource.” 

Members of the Legislative Advisory Council will work with Rep. Breen, Rep. Bellock and Sen. Nybo to develop new ideas and evaluate current proposals being considered in Springfield. Members must be at least 18 years of age and residents of the 24th Legislative District, which includes the 47th and 48th Representative Districts. 

“Feedback from the community is vitally important at every step of the legislative process,” Rep. Bellock said. “Many of the best public policy changes and government reforms achieved over the years were inspired from ideas suggested by constituents.”

“The expertise available within our communities is an excellent resource, and the Council’s assistance with research, discussion and debate gives us invaluable insight as elected officials charged with serving the entire district,” Sen. Nybo said. “I look forward to working with dedicated residents to find solutions to the challenges facing our communities and our state, as well as to embrace the possibilities and opportunities that await us.”

For more information or to submit a membership application, call Rep. Breen at 630/403-8135 or e-mail him at Contact Sen. Nybo by calling 630/969-0990 or e-mailing

The Legislative Advisory Council’s Committees and chairs include:

State Finance and Budget: James Bindon (Elmhurst) Co-Chair; David Olsen (Downers Grove) Co-Chair (Alt. Secretary); Tracy Ries (Elmhurst) Secretary

Business and Economic Expansion: Michael Cullinane (Elmhurst/Naperville) Co-Chair; Vincent Heaton (Wheaton) Co-Chair (Alt. Secretary); Catherine Galvin (Glen Ellyn) Secretary

Education: Mary Ann Kalis (Elmhurst) Chair; Jean Baldikoski (Elmhurst) Co-Chair (Alt Secretary); Tracy Ries (Elmhurst) Secretary

Environment and Energy: Greg Hart (Downers Grove Township) Chair; Joseph Urani (Cook County) Co-Chair/Secretary.

Senior Citizens and Veterans: Colleen Ceh (Downers Grove) Co-Chair; John Morrissey (Elmhurst) Co-Chair; Catherine Galvin (Glen Ellyn) Secretary

Human and Social Services: Alana McBride Piech (Lombard) Co-Chair; Lori Solyom (Lombard) Co-Chair/Reporting Secretary

Transportation: Alan Bennett (Lombard) Co-Chair; Walter Smith (Lombard) Co-Chair

No comments :